Share this

Nigeria’s interim head coach, Augustine Eguavoen has named a strong Super Eagles squad that will travel to Cameroon in January for the 2021 AFCON tournament.

The final 28-man squad had prominent names like Victor Osimhen, Odion Ighalo and Alex Iwobi while Villarreal star Samuel Chukwueze, captain Ahmed Musa and William Troost-Ekong also made the cut.

There was just for one local-based player, John Noble – who is the goalkeeper for two-time African champions, Enyimba.

Nigeria is making its 19th appearance at the biennial African showpiece since making their debut in Ghana 1963 where they crashed out in the group stage.

Nigeria have been paired in Group D alongside Egypt, Guinea Bissau and Sudan. The Super Eagles will commence their campaign against the Pharaohs on January 11 at the Roumde Adjia Stadium in Garoua.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England)

They have been crowned as African champions on three occasions (Nigeria 1980, Tunisia 1994 and South Africa 2013). Their last appearance was at the 2019 edition in Egypt – where they finished third.

All invited players are expected to arrive in camp in Abuja on 29th December, with the UK-based players expected to start arriving on Monday, January 3.

IAMBEST Networks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *