Share this

The hope of Senator David Umaru who represents Niger East senatorial district in returning to the National Assembly dimmed on Thursday following the declaration of Mohammed Sani as the winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary for the zone.

Sani, according to the result announced the returning officer, Saidu Akawu at the party’s secretariat in Minna polled a total of 39,192 to defeat Senator Umaru who got 5,870.
Saidu disclosed that Musa Mohammed came third in the race for the party’s ticket having polled 1,295, while Shaibu Gwada got 643.
According to the returning officer, Umar Faruk, Usman Dattijo and Eunice Afiniki Dauda got 750, 146 and 206 respectively.

Addressing journalist at conference hall of the party’s secretariat earlier, the winner in reaction to the allegation Senator Umaru that the exercise was fraught with irregularities, said such was the position of a loser.
He said Senator Umaru rather than condemning the exercise which is free, fair and transparent should be magnanimous in defeat, adding that he was ready to reach out to all contenders to move the constituency forward.
Source: Daily Trust

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *