Share this

FIFA have unveiled their own individual award for football’s best
players called ‘The Best Awards’ to rival the Ballon D’or award they
originally co-owned with France Football after ending it’s partnership
with France football in September.

Linda Ikeji reported that the awards will take place in Zurich on January 9, 2017 and according to
FIFA, the inaugural ‘Best FIFA Football Awards’ is the ‘definitive
accolade’ for players and coaches in world football.
World football governing body, FIFA will be unveiling
the shortlists for the four individual awards this week, starting on
Tuesday with the Women’s Coach award then 10 candidates for the men’s
coach prize  on Wednesday then on Thursday and Friday the 10 candidates
for the top women’s and men’s players prizes will revealed respectively.

FIFA previously named their award ‘FIFA world player of the year’ prior
to their partnership with France Football in 2010 but decided not to
revert to the same name after ending their partnership with France
Football hence the new name ‘he Best’ awards.

The Best’ awards will also feature a new voting system that sees fans
have a say in the player and coach of the year in both men’s and women’s
Source: L. Ikeji

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *