Share this
The members of the Senate have donated 1,280 bags of rice to the unpaid workers in the Kogi State civil service.

  The gesture came after Senator Dino Melaye who represents Kogi Wests senatorial district in the Senate, brought the plight of the workers who are being owed many months salaries, to the floor of the house yesterday October 25th. Dino announced the kind gesture when he addressed members of the National Assembly press corp.

“Today, I drew the attention of the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to the plight of civil servants in my native Kogi State following the recent disturbing reports of deaths suicide and inability to pay medical bills some workers. I’m happy to report to you that my colleagues in the Senate have immediately responded donating bags of rice and other essential items to the workers in order to cushion the biting effects of non-payment of their salaries the Kogi State government. The donation, which amounted to 1,280 bags of rice as of today, and others that will follow later, will be handed over to the Kogi State chapter of the Nigeria Labour Congress for onward distribution to the most vulnerable workers who need immediate assistance.”
According to Dino, those that donated include Senators Atai Aidoko (PDP, Kogi-East) donated 70 bags while Danjuma Goje (APC, Gombe-Central), Peter Nwaoboshi (PDP, Delta-North), Ibrahim Gobir (APC, Sokoto-East) and Buruji Kashamu (PDP, Ogun-East) donated 50 bags each, Senator Isah Shuaib Lau (APC, Taraba-North) donated 40 bags of rice while Senators Ahmad Lawan (APC, Yobe-North), Ahmed Ogembe (PDP, Kogi-Central), Usman Nafada (APC, Gombe-North), Rafiu Ibrahim (APC, Kwara-South), and Stella Oduah (PDP, Anambra-North) and gave 30 bags, with Philip Aduda (PDP, FCT) adding 10 bags of fertiliser.
Those who donated 20 bags include Senators Tayo Alasoadura (APC, Ondo-Central), Umaru Kurfi (APC, Katsina-Central), Tijjani Kaura (APC, Zamfara-North), Sam Anyanwu (PDP, Imo-East), Rose Oko (PDP, Cross River-North), Obinna Ogba (PDP, Ebonyi-Central), Bala Ibn N’Allah (APC, Kebbi-South), Jeremiah Useni (PDP, Plateau-South), Baba Kaka Garbai (APC, Borno-Central), Ali Wakili (APC, Bauchi-South), Sha’aba Lafiagi (APC, Kwara-North), Francis Alimikhena (APC, Edo-North), Abdullahi Gumel (APC, Jigawa North-West) and Mathew Urhoghide (PDP, Edo-South), among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *